Minute

Police and Fire Sub-committee

Thursday, 24 November 2022, 11:30.

Council Chamber, Council Offices, School Place, Kirkwall.



Present

Councillors David Dawson, Graham A Bevan, Alexander G Cowie, Raymond S Peace and Jean E Stevenson.

Present via remote link (Microsoft Teams)

Councillor Mellissa-Louise Thomson.

Clerk

• Sandra Craigie, Committees Officer.

In Attendance

- Hayley Green, Corporate Director for Neighbourhood Services and Infrastructure.
- Georgette Herd, Solicitor.
- David Miller, Safety and Resilience Officer.

Scottish Fire and Rescue Service:

• John McKenna, Station Commander.

In Attendance via remote link (Microsoft Teams)

Police Scotland:

- Chief Inspector Alasdair MacLeod South Highland Command Area.
- Inspector David Hall.

Apology

Councillor Duncan A Tullock.

Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were intimated.

Chair

Councillor David Dawson.

1. Scottish Fire and Rescue Service

Performance Against Orkney Fire and Rescue Plan

After consideration of a report by Iain Macleod, Local Senior Officer, copies of which had been circulated, and after hearing a report from the Station Commander, Scottish Fire and Rescue Service, the Sub-committee:

Scrutinised the statistical performance of the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service, Orkney Islands area, for the period 1 July to 30 September 2022, detailed in the Quarterly Performance Report, attached as Appendix 1 to the report by the Local Senior Officer, and obtained assurance that progress was being made against the objectives.

2. Performance Against Local Policing Plan

After consideration of a report by the Area Commander, copies of which had been circulated, the Sub-committee:

Scrutinised progress in respect of the Orkney Islands Local Policing Plan 2020-2023, for the period 1 April to 30 September 2022, attached as Appendix 1 to the report by the Area Commander, and obtained assurance that progress was being made against the objectives.

Councillor Jean E Stevenson left the meeting during discussion of this item.

3. Conclusion of Meeting

At 12:58 the Chair declared the meeting concluded.

Signed: David Dawson.