Page 1.



Orkney and Shetland Valuation Joint Board



Minute

Thursday, 8 September 2022, 12:30.

Microsoft Teams.

Present:

Orkney Islands Council:

John A Ross Scott, Kristopher D Leask, P Lindsay Hall and Dr Jean E Stevenson.

Shetland Islands Council:

Allison Duncan and Stephen Leask.

Clerk to the Board:

• Karen A Greaves.

In Attendance:

• Darryl Rae, Assessor and Electoral Registration Officer.

Orkney Islands Council:

- Andrew Groundwater, Head of Human Resources and Organisational Development.
- Gavin Mitchell, Head of Legal and Governance.
- Hazel Flett, Service Manager (Governance).

Apologies:

- Dr Stephen G Clackson, Orkney Islands Council.
- Liz Peterson, Shetland Islands Council.
- Gary Robinson, Shetland Islands Council.

Declarations of Interest:

• No declarations of interest were intimated.

Chair:

• Stephen Leask, Shetland Islands Council, Convener of the Board.

1. Appointment of Treasurer to the Board

There had been previously circulated a report by the Clerk to the Board regarding the appointment of a Treasurer to the Board.

The Clerk advised that, on 5 November 2020, the Board appointed Colin Kemp as Treasurer to the Board, following the transition of administration of the Board from Shetland Islands Council to Orkney Islands Council. On 17 August 2022, Mr Kemp tendered his resignation with effect from 12 September 2022. As the Board was required to appoint a Treasurer, it was recommended that Erik Knight, Head of Finance, Orkney Islands Council, be appointed.

The Board noted:

1.1. That the Board must appoint a Treasurer in accordance with the provisions of the Valuation Joint Boards (Scotland) Order 1995.

1.2. That, on 17 August 2022, Colin Kemp intimated his resignation as Treasurer to the Board, with effect from 12 September 2022.

On the motion of Lindsay Hall, seconded by Allison Duncan, the Board **resolved**:

1.3. To appoint Erik Knight, Head of Finance, Orkney Islands Council, as Treasurer to the Orkney and Shetland Valuation Joint Board.

2. Conclusion of Meeting

At 12:34 the Convener declared the meeting concluded.

Signed: Stephen Leask.